IUBio GIL .. BIOSCI/Bionet News .. Biosequences .. Software .. FTP

New in 2000 for Plant Physiology

Natasha Raikhel nraikhel at pilot.msu.edu
Thu Apr 6 09:32:48 EST 2000


Each year Plant Physiology will sponsor the Young Scientistís Best 
ìPlant Biologyî Paper-of-the-Year Award.

The winning paper will be selected by a committee that is composed of 
the Editor-in-Chief and selected members of the editorial board of 
Plant Physiology.  Nominations can be submitted by editorial board 
members, reviewers, or others familiar with the scientific content of 
the paper.  Each year in November, ASPP will remind its members by 
e-mail and via the ASPP NEWS to nominate papers for the prize. 
Letters of nominations should not exceed two pages and should 
describe the research, its significance, and the role that the first 
author (i.e. the nominee) played in the discovery process.  Articles 
must have been published during the previous calendar year. Papers 
that show truly novel mechanistic or conceptual insights at any level 
of biological complexity, from the molecular to the whole plant, will 
be considered.

Six copies of the nominating letter and six copies of the paper 
should be sent to the Editor-in-Chief of Plant Physiology. The 
deadline for submission each year will be February 15, and the 
selection will be made during March.  The winner will be announced in 
Plant Physiology and in the ASPP NEWS, as well as in the program of 
the Societyís annual meeting. The winner will be the first author of 
the paper and, to qualify, must have been a graduate student or 
postdoc at the time the work was performed or the paper was written. 
If two authors contributed equally and their publication is chosen 
for an award, the prize will be split between the two.  For 
scientists not on a traditional career track, five years of 
professional work post-Ph.D. will be the cutoff for consideration.

The award will consist of a $1,000 cash prize and a subsidy of up to 
$1,500 to attend the ASPP annual meeting the year of the award. The 
ASPP Program Committee will schedule an appropriate minisymposium at 
the annual meeting that will feature a presentation by the award 
recipient.  The winner and her or his presentation will be 
highlighted in the program.

Natasha Raikhel
MSU-DOE Plant Research Laboratory
Michigan State University
East Lansing, MI 48824-1312 USA
Phone: (517) 353-3518
Fax: (517) 353-9168
e-mail: nraikhel at pilot.msu.edu

More information about the Maize mailing list

Send comments to us at archive@iubioarchive.bio.net