IUBio GIL .. BIOSCI/Bionet News .. Biosequences .. Software .. FTP

Activities of the Southeastern Society of Parasitologists

Sharon Patton patton.sharon at HOSPITAL.VET.UTK.EDU
Mon Jun 13 12:15:52 EST 1994

      Southeastern Society of Parasitologists (Sharon Patton)

     The Southeastern Society of Parasitologists held its annual
meeting at Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, LA, on March
28-30, 1994.  The meeting was held jointly with the annual meeting
of the Southern Conference on Animal Parasites, Animal Disease
Research Workers in the Southern States, and the Southern
Conference on Avian Diseases.  The meeting was planned and
executed by Local arrangements chair for SSP Dr. Bonner Stewart,
President-elect and Program officer Dr. Larry Roberts, President
Dr. Byron Blagburn, Vice-President Robin Overstreet, and the local
organizing committee for the joint meeting (Drs. Tom Klei, F. M.
Enright, J. Storz, J.K. Steeles, J.E. Miller, T. B. Stewart, and
J.C. Williams).  The scientific program consisted of 42
parasitology papers and an additional 45 papers presented in the
ADRWSS and SCAD sessions.  The Byrd-Dunn Award for the best paper
presented at the annual meeting by a student was presented to
Lance W. Fontenot, Clemson University for his paper entitled "A
Comparison of the Helminth Parasites of Water Snakes (Nerodia
sipedon) from PCB-Contaminated and Referenced Localities."
     The Presidential symposium entitled "Parasite Pathology: Past
and Present" was organized by Dr. Roberts.  Symposium speakers and
topics were "Paleopathology of Schistosomiasis" - Dr. Jerome H.
Smith, "Immunopathology of Malaria" - Dr. Rick L. Tarleton,
"Immunopathology of Malaria" -Dr. Mark A. James.  SSP was
privileged to receive a contribution from The Animal Disease
Research Workers in the Southern States to help support the
Presidential symposium.  At the plenary session each organization
provided a speaker.  The parasitology speakers and topics were
Dr. Joe Urban - "Cytokines in Infectious and Parasitic Diseases"
and Dr. Robin Overstreet - "A Bacculovirus in Commercial Shrimps
from the Americas".  ASP president Dr. Ralph Lichtenfels addressed
the group after the SSP luncheon.  On Tuesday night all societies
represented gathered for a most enjoyable crawfish boil and
jambalaya social.

     At the business meeting, 9 individuals were approved for
full or student membership; 3 were approved for Emeritus
membership: Dr. Grover Miller, Dr. Robert Short, Dr. Hilton T.
Goulson.  Two of our members died since our last meeting: Dr.
Robert W. Edwards,  Saint Augustine's College, Raleigh, NC and Dr.
Larry N. Gleason, Western Kentucky University, Bowling Green, KY.

     Officers of the society for 1994-95 are as follows: President
- Dr. Larry Roberts,  President-Elect - Dr. Leon Duobinis-Gray,
Vice President - Dr. John Aho, Secretary-Treasurer - Dr.  Sharon
Patton.  The 1995 meeting of the Society will be held jointly with
the Association of Southeastern Biologists at The University of
Tennessee, April 19 - 21.  The 1996 meeting of the Society will be
held in Kentucky at the Murray State University Land-Between-the-
Lakes Biological Station.  For further information about the
meetings or the Society contact Dr. Sharon Patton, University of
Tennessee, College of Veterinary Medicine, Dept of Environmental
Practice, Knoxville, TN 37996-4500.


More information about the Parasite mailing list

Send comments to us at archive@iubioarchive.bio.net