IUBio GIL .. BIOSCI/Bionet News .. Biosequences .. Software .. FTP

[Photosynthesis] An Award Announcement/Deadline December 31, 2006

Govindjee via photosyn%40net.bio.net (by gov from uiuc.edu)
Wed Oct 18 13:11:41 EST 2006

Dear Photosynthesis folks:
I attach below an Announcement of an award: Deadline is December, 2006.
Editor, Historical Corner, Photosynthesis Research
Web address is:

Annual Award of the C. A. and C .C.Rebeiz Foundation for Basic Research
The first Annual Prize of the Rebeiz Foundation for Basic Research will be
awarded on June 15, 2007. The Award consists of a certificate and one
thousand (1,000) dollars to be used at the discretion of the awardee. For
more details visit the Foundation website at “www. vlpbp.org”.
The Rebeiz Foundation for Basic Research is a tax-exempt institution,
located in Champaign, Illinois, dedicated to the promotion of Fundamental
Research at the National and International levels.
Among other things, the "Rebeiz Foundation for Basic Research will sponsor
national and international research on chloroplast chemistry, biochemistry
and molecular biology. It will feature papers of the month and papers of
the year to promote the best research on chloroplasts and will deliver
annual prizes for the best papers in the field.” Gradually the number of
awards will be increased form one to eight awards to eventually cover the
eight chloroplast research areas listed below
The Foundation is run by a group of scientists that comprise
• a President of the Board (C. A. Rebeiz, crebeiz from uiuc.edu) and eight (8)
Board Directors, that represent eight chloroplast research areas of
interest, namely:
• Hans Bohnert, University of Illinois, for chloroplast stress,
(bohnerth from life.uiuc.edu),
• Christoph Benning, Michigan State University, for chloroplast lipids,
(benning from msu.edu),
• Henry Daniell, Central Florida University, for chloroplast
transformation (daniell from mail.ucf.edu),
• Natalia Doudareva, Purdue University, for chloroplast isoprenoids and
terpenoids, doudarev from purdue.edu),
• Kenneth Hoober, Arizona State University, for pigment-protein
interactions (khoober from asu.edu),
• Archie Portis, University of Illinois and USDA, for
Rubisco-photosynthesis (arportis from uiuc.edu),
• Baishnab Tripathy, Jawaharlal Nehru University, for chloroplast
tetrapyrroles,(bctripathy from mail.jnu.ac.in),
• Julian Whitelegge, University of California at Los Angeles, for
chloroplast genomics and proteomics (jpw from chem.ucla.edu), and
• Carole Rebeiz, Secretary-Treasurer, Rebeiz Foundation for Basic Research
(ccrebeiz from aol.com)
The Rebeiz Foundation for Basic Research Prize, will be awarded to the
corresponding author of the selected paper published during an academic
year and dealing with one of the following areas of chloroplast
biochemical and molecular biological research:
• chloroplast tetrapyrroles,
• chloroplast isoprenoids,
• chloroplast prenyllipids,
• chloroplast lipids
• chloroplast pigment-proteins interactions,
• chloroplast genomics and proteomics,
• chloroplast transformation,
• Rubisco-photosynthesis, and
• biology of chloroplast stress.
US and international scientists are eligible to apply.
External-nominations and self-nominations are acceptable. A letter
explaining the novel and outstanding features of the nominated work should
accompany every submission.
The closing date of paper submission for the June 2007 award is December
31, 2006. Papers published or accepted for publication and/or posted on
line between January 1 and December 31, 2006 are eligible for
consideration. The papers will be evaluated by the President and Board of
Directors of the Foundation. Word or PDF copies of published or in-print
papers (posted on line) should be submitted, preferably via email, to any
Board Director or the President of the Foundation.

More information about the Photosyn mailing list

Send comments to us at archive@iubioarchive.bio.net